The United States has to be irate right now because they just scored to go up 2-0 on Guatemala, but the referee waved it off. Instead of counting Jozy Altidore's goal, he whistled for a foul a half-second earlier, apparently unaware of this thing called "advantage."
It was a pretty textbook play. The ball was at the top of the box on Clint Dempsey's foot when he was fouled. The ball squirted free right to Altidore, who was in all alone on goal. He slide the ball into the side netting and goal, right! Wrong. The referee, fixated on the foul blew the whistle, awarded a free kick and did not award the goal. It was exactly why advantage exists, yet the referee decided not to play it for reasons only he knows.
If Guatemala scores, this one is going to sting for the U.S. They should be up 2-0 and instead are just up 1-0.