La Liga, Week 9: The calm before the Clásico storm

Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno

This week's schedule in Spain is light on big games but with the first meeting between the league's two heavyweights on the horizon, at least we have something to look forward to.

Oh great La Liga scheduling computer! We have suffered through the long, dark international break all the while awaiting the return of glorious club football. Now we stand on the precipice of Week 9 in Spain and we await the matches you have set for us!

Quickly look over the schedule

Gee. Thanks. You're worse than Deep Thought.

Sadly there's not any marquee match-ups this week in La Liga but considering the first El Clásico of the season is just over a week away, I guess we can forgive the computer for wanting us to ease us back into things a bit.

League leaders Barcelona look for their ninth straight win against 18th placed Osasuna with captain Carles Puyol in the 18 for the first time since knee surgery earlier this year. He may not end up playing but it's nice to see Puyol and his luxurious mane of hair back. Atlético Madrid will attempt to stay right with Barca as the face a potentially tricky trip to Espanyol. Javier Aguirre's side stumbled into the break with three straight losses and could use a positive result to get their season back on track.

If you're looking for the one match to match this week, check out Athletic Bilbao vs. Villarreal on Monday. Real Madrid's game against Malaga could also be interesting if you're the footballing equivalent of a birdwatcher. Why? It should be a chance to catch a glimpse of the elusive Gareth Bale.

Here is this week's full schedule:

Saturday, October 19th

Real Madrid vs. Malaga | 10:00 a.m. ET, 4:00 p.m. CEST

Valencia vs. Real Sociedad | 12:00 p.m. ET, 6:00 p.m. CEST

Osasuna vs. Barcelona | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST

Espanyol vs. Atlético Madrid | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Sunday, October 20th

Granada vs. Getafe | 6:00 a.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CEST

Almeria vs. Rayo Vallecano | 11:00 a.m. ET, 5:00 p.m. CEST

Real Betis vs. Elche | 1:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m. CEST

Real Valladolid vs. Sevilla | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Monday, October 21st

Celta Vigo vs. Levante | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST

Athletic Bilbao vs. Villarreal | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Follow @SBNationSoccer on TwitterLike SB Nation Soccer on Facebook

More in Soccer:

Does the Premier League suit tiki-taka?

Vucetich exit the climax of Mexico’s circus

Enjoy Southampton’s success while it lasts

Handicapping the Supporters’ Shield race

Milan’s problems go far beyond Allegri

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.