La Liga, Week 14: Atlético Madrid and Real Madrid looking to pounce on wounded Barcelona

Denis Doyle

As Barcelona returns from the international break with injuries to at least six regular starters, the title chasers beneath them will be hoping to take advantage of any slip-up by the Blaugrana.

After a long international break to finally wrap up the final participants in next summer's World Cup, it's time to get back to the business of club football. Spain's top division returns with a full schedule over the weekend that lacks any particularly sexy match-ups but does feature a chance for a couple top half teams to test themselves against two of La Liga's best.

An injury riddled Barcelona welcomes 8th placed Granada to the Camp Nou as Gerardo Martino scrambles to patch up the numerous holes in his roster. Imagine a man on a sinking boat trying to plug every leak but struggling to keep up with them. Lionel Messi, Dani Alves, Victor Valdés, Cesc Fàbregas, Xavi and Jordi Alba are all out of Saturday's game or questionable. If there was ever a time for Granada to get a big win over the league leaders, this might the chance.

Second placed Atlético Madrid meets sixth placed Getafe hoping to pounce in the wounded Barca struggle. While Atéti would need to a massive turn around in goal differential, a win combined with a Barca loss could pull them even at the top of the table. Meanwhile Real Madrid travel to face 17th place Almeria in a match that should be painless but will likely end up being fair more competitive than it should be on paper.

Here's the full schedule for week 14 in Spain:

Friday, November 22nd

Real Valladolid vs. Osasuna | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Saturday, November 23rd

Barcelona vs. Granada | 10:00 a.m. ET, 4:00 p.m. CEST
Real Sociedad vs. Celta Vigo | 12:00 p.m. ET, 6:00 p.m. CEST
Almeria vs. Real Madrid | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST
Alético Madrid vs. Getafe | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Sunday, November 24th

Levante vs. Villarreal | 6:00 a.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CEST
Rayo Vallecano vs. Espanyol | 11:00 a.m. ET, 5:00 p.m. CEST
Elche vs. Valencia | 1:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m. CEST
Sevilla vs. Real Betis | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Monday, November 25th

Málaga vs. Athletic Bilbao | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.