La Liga, Week 15: Barcelona's first trip to the new San Mamés highlights the week

Denis Doyle

Barcelona will enjoy Athletic Bilbao hospitality at the new San Mamés for the first time but the real interesting matches are in the European fight and at the bottom of the table.

Barcelona's trip to Atheltic Bilbao should provide an interesting challenge for the Blaugrana. Motiviation shouldn't be in short supply after Gerardo Martino's side played poorly and lost at Ajax in the Champions League. This will also be Barca's first trip to Bilbao's new San Mamés where the Atheltic faithful would love nothing more than to see they club trip up the league leaders.

This week's most interesting game is late on Saturday when Espanyol hosts Real Sociedad at the Estadi Cornellà-El Prat. La Real have bounced back well from their poor start the season but will likely be smarting from another disappointing Champions League loss in the mid-week. Espanyol have cooled off a bit from their strong start but can jump back into the European fight with a win.

We've also been gifted a bottom of the table Thunderdome-esque thrown down as Real Betis meets Ray Vallecano. A loss for Betis could find them in an even deeper hole as the halfway point of the season looms.

Here's the schedule for week 15 in Spain.

Friday, November 29th

Getafe vs. Levante | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST
Villarreal vs. Malaga | 2:30 p.m. ET, 8:30 p.m. CEST

Saturday, November 30th

Elche vs. Atletico Madrid | 10:00 a.m. ET, 4:00 p.m. CEST
Celta Vigo vs. Almeria | 12:00 p.m. ET, 6:00 p.m. CEST
Real Madrid vs. Real Valladolid | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST
Espanyol vs. Real Sociedad | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Sunday, December 1st

Real Betis vs. Rayo Vallecano | 6:00 a.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CEST
Granada vs. Sevilla FC | 11:00 a.m. ET, 5:00 p.m. CEST
Valencia vs. Osasuna | 1:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m. CEST
Athletic Bilbao vs. Barcelona | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.