La Liga, Week 16: Villarreal's trip to Barcelona headlines the week

Manuel Queimadelos Alonso

This week's marquee match-up in Spain features fifth-place Villarreal who travel to meet league leaders Barcelona.

Another week of La Liga arrives as we inch closer to the holiday and the halfway point of the season. Barcelona remains the king of the mountain though their loss last week against Athletic Bilbao allowed Atlético Madrid to pull even on points and Real Madrid to close within three.

Despite a solid mid-week win for Barcelona their schedule remains tricky with their first meeting against Villarreal of the season at the Camp Nou on Saturday. The Yellow Submarine sit in 5th and are unbeaten in the their last four games, including a draw against Atléti. Villarreal also drew Real Madrid earlier in the season and will be hoping to continue their fine play against the league's top teams.

Athletic Bilbao will be out to avoid a let down in the wake of their win over Barca as they travel to face Sevilla.

Down at the bottom of the table, Real Betis and new head coach Juan Carlos Garrido face Real Sociedad, looking to channel some of their positive play in the Europa League into better league performances.

Here's the full schedule for week 16 in Spain.

Friday, December 13th

Levante vs. Elche | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Saturday, December 14th

Osasuna vs. Real Madrid | 10:00 a.m. ET, 4:00 p.m. CEST
Rayo Vallecano vs. Granada | 12:00 p.m. ET, 6:00 p.m. CEST
Barcelona vs. Villarreal | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST
Malaga vs. Getafe | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Sunday, December 15th

Almeria vs. Espanyol | 6:00 a.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CEST
Real Sociedad vs. Real Betis | 11:00 a.m. ET, 5:00 p.m. CEST
Sevilla FC vs. Athletic Bilbao | 1:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m. CEST
Atletico Madrid vs. Valencia | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Monday, December 16th

Real Valladolid vs. Celta Vigo | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.