Japan lead Italy on controversial penalty

Japan have outplayed Italy in the early going in their Confederations Cup match and probably do deserve to lead on the balance of play. However, the way that they gained the lead was a bit suspect. Keisuke Honda converted from the spot after Gianluigi Buffon was whistled for hauling down Shinji Okazaki in the box, but was it a penalty?

Italyfoul_medium

It's close, but the referee probably made a mistake. Buffon appears to get a lot of ball on a safe challenge, in front of Okazaki. Also, the referee showed a yellow card, despite it being a clear goal-scoring opportunity. Generally, an incident like that should result in a red card or a no-call. The fact that the referee gave neither suggests that he might not have been confident in his decision.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.