DFB Pokal, Tuesday Recap: Borussia Dortmund, Bayer Leverkusen, Wolfsburg, Hamburg all advance

Lennart Preiss

The first day of the DFB Pokal second round is in the books with Borussia Dortmund, Bayer Leverkusen, Wolfsburg, and Hamburg all advancing.

Preußen Münster 0-3 FC Augsburg

Just when Münster thought they were getting to halftime with a level score, Tobias Werner grabbed a goal to turn the match on it's head. Just after halftime, Werner struck again to give Augsburg the 2-0 lead. Minutes after Werner's goal, Sasha Mölders grabbed another goal to make it 3-0 and kill any hope for a cup run from Münster.

SC Wiedenbrück 1-3 SV Sandhausen

Wiedenbrück haven't won since their first round DFB Pokal game, but they took a 1-0 lead into halftime. Unfortunately, Sandhausen came roaring back with three goals in a five minute period to win the match 3-1.

1860 Munich 0-2 (aet) Borussia Dortmund

Borussia Dortmund controlled the match against 1860 Munich on the day, but a valiant defensive effort from Die Löwen saw the match head into extra time. In the 105th minute, Dominik Stahl brought down Marco Reus and was sent off for it. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang stepped up and converted the penalty to give BVB the deserved lead. Minutes later, Jonas Hofmann assisted Henrikh Mkhitaryan to make it 2-0.

VfL Wolfsburg 2-0 VfR Aalen

Wolfsburg received a goal just before the half from Diego to take the advantage heading into the second period. Diego turned provider in the second half when Timm Klose headed in a free kick to make it 2-0.

Arminia Bielefeld 0-2 Bayer Leverkusen

It took an hour for Bayer Leverkusen to finally break the deadlock with 2.Bundesliga side Arminia Bielefeld. Heung-Min Son scored the first goal, and then Sidney Sam added one in the final minutes to secure the 2-0 victory for Bayer Leverkusen.

Hamburger SV 1-0 Greuther Fürth

Hamburg picked up a big win over Greuther Fürth when Pierre-Michel Lasogga knocked in a free kick from Hakan Calhanoglu.

1899 Hoffenheim 3-0 (aet) Energie Cottbus

Hoffenheim struggled to find the back of the net in regulation, but they unloaded on Cottbus in the extra time period. Niklas Süle, Roberto Firmino, and Sven Schipplock all scored in extra time to lead Hoffenheim to a 3-0 victory.

Mainz 05 0-1 1. FC Köln

Köln won for the first time in Mainz since 1962! Mainz may have controlled the match, but they were never able to find the goal. The 2.Bundesliga side took the lead just after halftime on a goal from Marcel Risse, and Köln never looked back.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.