La Liga, Week 7: El Derbi madrileño and other tales of Spanish football

Denis Doyle

There's no rest for the weary for teams in the Primera Division. A brutal stretch of 11 straight games with matches continues through the weekend with a meeting between Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid the highlight.

For the last seven days La Liga has had at least one match per day, a typically more. If you're not tired just reading that, imagine how the players and coaches who've been forced through this gauntlet feel. Sadly, things aren't over as the next four days have more matches scheduled leading into next week's European cup matches.

This is getting a little absurd.

Fortunately -- at least for the fans -- we've been given a present by the scheduling computer in the form of the first El Derbi madrileño of the season as Real Madrid travels to face Atletico Madrid for the first time since last season's Copa del Rey final. We'll have full coverage here at SB Nation Soccer for you on Sunday for what should be a brilliant match between two title contenders.

Barcelona get a bit of a break with a trip to face Almeria, an extremely winnable match that should allow them to stay atop the league. Surprising early season over achievers Villarreal and Espanyol face lower tables foes Real Betis and Getafe respectively.

Real Sociedad's match against Sevilla should prove interesting as well with La Real sinking slowly down the table due to a lack of offense and Sevilla buoyed by their first league win of the season on Wednesday.

Here's a look at this weekend's schedule in Spain:

Friday, September 27th

Real Valladolid vs. Malaga | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Saturday, September 28h

Valencia vs, Rayo Vallecano | 10:00 a.m. ET, 4:00 p.m. CEST

Almeria vs. Barcelona | 12:00 p.m. ET, 6:00 p.m. CEST

Real Sociedad vs. Sevilla | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST

Real Madrid vs. Atletico Madrid | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Sunday, September 29th

Osasuna vs. Levante | 6:00 a.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CEST

Celta Vigo vs. Elche | 11:00 p.m. ET, 5:00 p.m. CEST

Espanyol vs. Getafe | 1:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m. CEST

Real Betis vs. Villarreal | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Monday, September 30th

Granada vs. Athletic Bilbao | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Follow @SBNationSoccer on Twitter | Like SB Nation Soccer on Facebook

More in Soccer:

2022 World Cup in Qatar is lost in the desert

5 things we learned from the League Cup’s third round

Liverpool suffer from attack of the Suarez clones

Promotion/relegation: Whitecaps up, NBC down

Di Canio’s Sunderland was always doomed to fail

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.