Copa del Rey, Quarterfinals: Four semifinal spots are up for grab this week

Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno

Barcelona and Real Sociedad both hold multi-goal aggregate leads while Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid are both just one goal up entering the second leg.

By the end of the day on Thursday we'll know the four teams that will compete in the semifinals of the 2014 Copa del Rey tournament. Chances are three three top teams in La Liga will be there, joined by the fifth placed team but there's still a chance for things to change.

Barcelona and Real Sociedad are in the driver's seat after their first leg triumphs last week. Barca appeared to be in trouble after 60 minutes in the first leg against Levante but a late hat trick from Cristian Tello gave them a big advantage going into the second leg. La Real's 3-1 first leg win have them with a foot in the semifinals as well against Racing Santander.

Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid both face tougher challenge in their second leg matches after both only managed 1-0 victories last week. Madrid's defense suffocated Espanyol and if the Periquitos hope to come back, they'll have to find a way to score some goals. Gareth Bale is expected to miss the match.

Atléti travel to the Basque Country holding a slim advantage over Athletic Bilbao. Given how tough a place the San Mames is to play -- even the still under construction new version -- Athletic have an excellent chance of turning around the first leg defeat.

Here's the full schedule for this week's Copa del Rey matches.

Tuesday, January 28th

Real Madrid vs. Espanyol (Madrid lead 1-0 on aggregate) | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Wednesday, January 29th

Athletic Bilbao vs. Atlético Madrid (Atléti lead 1-0 on aggregate) | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST

Barcelona vs. Levante (Barca lead 4-1 on aggregate) | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Thursday, January 30th

Racing Santander vs. Real Sociedad (La Real lead 3-1 on aggregate) | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.