La Liga, Round 22: Atlético Madrid and Real Madrid both face tough tests

Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno

Atlético Madrid and Real Madrid both face tough games that could open the door for Barcelona to expand their lead at the top of the league.

The title race should be shook up this weekend as two of the three teams at the top of the table face challenges this weekend from teams chasing achievement of their own.

Atlético Madrid, currently tied on points with Barcelona, welcome 6th placed Real Sociedad to the Vincente Calderon. La Real have won two straight league matches and sit a single point behind Villarreal in fifth place. The two teams were busy during the midweek in the Copa del Rey, with both advancing to the semifinals. Atléti's advantage will be their defense which is one of the best in the league, especially with La Real a team capable of being shutdown by a stout defense.

Real Madrid travel to face Athletic Bilbao at the new San Mamés. Until this week, Atheltic had yet to lose at home this season but a loss against Atlético Madrid in the Copa del Rey ended that streak. San Mamés remains a formidable place to play though with Barcelona already having lost their earlier in the season.

Barcelona will attempt to remain in first place with a home match against tenth placed Valencia.

Here's the full schedule for round 22 in Spain.

Friday, January 31st

Granada vs. Celta Vigo | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Saturday, February 1st

Barcelona vs. Valencia | 10:00 a.m. ET, 4:00 p.m. CEST

Levante vs. Rayo Vallecano | 12:00 p.m. ET, 6:00 p.m. CEST

Getafe vs. Real Valladolid | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST

Málaga vs. Sevilla | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Sunday, February 2nd

Elche vs. Almeria | 6:00 a.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CEST

Real Betis vs. Espanyol | 11:00 a.m. ET, 5:00 p.m. CEST

Atlético Madrid vs. Real Soceidad | 1:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m. CEST

Athletic Bilbao vs. Real Madrid | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Monday, February 3rd

Villarreal vs. Osasauna | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.