La Liga, Week 19: Atlético Madrid and Barcelona rumble at the Calderón

David Ramos

The two top teams in Spain finally meet for the first time in league play this season.

All eyes will be on the Vicente Calderón Stadium for Saturday's top of the table clash between Atlético Madrid and Barcelona. While it's a big game...fine, it's a HUGE game, there is other business to attend to during week 19 in Spain.

The race for fourth place tightened up considerably last weekend thanks to Real Sociedad's victory over Athletic Bilbao. La Real moved within a point of Athletic in fourth, while Villarreal closed within two. Things are likely to shake up again this week as the Yellow Submarine travels to face La Real in big edition of Monday Night Fútbol. It may not get the press that Saturday's match will get, but it should be just an important in terms of table implications.

Real Madrid could close within two points of second place with a win against Espanyol, assuming of course there's a winner in the Atléti vs. Barca match. Even a draw would help Madrid get a bit closer to the top of the table, assuming they can take care of business against a tough, but inconsistent, Espanyol side.

As for the twice mentioned clash at the Calderón, it might be the biggest game of the Spanish season so far. Yes, even bigger than El Clásico. A win by other side would give them a three point lead at the top and the early lead in the tiebreaker should Barca and Atléti end up tied at the end of the season (head-to-head results are the first tiebreaker in La Liga).

Friday, January 10th

Granada vs. Real Valladolid | 10:00 a.m. ET, 4:00 p.m. CEST

Saturday, January 11th

Athletic Bilbao vs. Almeria | 10:00 a.m. ET, 4:00 p.m. CEST

Celta Vigo vs. Valencia | 12:00 p.m. ET, 6:00 p.m. CEST

Atlético Madrid vs. Barcelona | 2:00 p.m. ET, 8:00 p.m. CEST

Elche vs. Sevilla | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

Sunday, January 12th

Getafe vs. Rayo Vallecano | 6:00 a.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CEST

Real Betis vs. Osasuna | 11:00 a.m. ET, 5:00 p.m. CEST

Espanyol vs. Real Madrid | 1:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m. CEST

Levante vs. Málaga | 3:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 p.m. CEST

Monday, January 13th

Real Sociedad vs. Villarreal | 4:00 p.m. ET, 10:00 p.m. CEST

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.