La Liga, Round 25: The next flinch in the title race could be crucial

Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno

The title race remains close, the battle for fourth place is close, the relegation battle is getting tighter. It's an exciting time in Spain with less than three months to go.

When Round 25 in the Spanish Primera Division concludes on Monday there will be 13 rounds of play left in the 2013/14 season over the next three months. Still plenty of time for many things to change but if you look at the table now, it's encouraging to see how close the various races are.

Everyone is aware of the title race of course where Barcelona are on top despite being tied on 60 points with both Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid. The three teams have been getting closer and closer since the new year and are now engaged in easily the most exciting title races in years. Sure Barca and Madrid have had some duels recently but the fact that a third team is involved is a welcome change of pace.

Madrid and Atléti both face winnable matches this round as Los Blancos welcome Elche to the Bernabéu and Atléti travels to face Osasuna. Barca have the most difficult match on paper as they must head to the Basque Country for a tricky match-up against Real Sociedad.

Sure Barca recently defeated La Real in the Copa del Rey semifinals but every game is a different entity and the home side was able to get a 1-1 draw in the second leg at the Anoeta. In fact, the Blaugrana haven't won a game away against La Real since 2007.

In the race for fourth Athletic Bilbao sit four points clear of both Villarreal and the aforementioned Real Sociedad. Athletic gets to face last place Real Betis who are coming off mid-week action in the Europa League, while Villarreal faces a tough test on the road against Espanyol. It could be a chance for Athletic to extend their lead if results break their way.

Here's the full schedule of games for round 25 in Spain.

Friday, February 21

Real Valladolid vs. Levante | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Saturday, February 22

Real Madrid vs. Elche | 10 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. CEST

Celta Vigo vs. Getafe | 12 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CEST

Real Sociedad vs. Barcelona | 2 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Almeria vs. Málaga | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, February 23

Rayo Vallecano vs. Sevilla FC | 6 a.m. ET, 12 p.m. CEST

Real Betis vs. Athletic Bilbao | 11 a.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Valencia vs. Granada | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Osasuna vs. Athletic Madrid | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Monday, February 24

Espanyol vs. Villarreal | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

More from SBNation.com

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.