La Liga, Round 26: Atlético Madrid and Real Madrid meet again

Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno

All eyes will be on Madrid this week in Spain as the final Madrid derby of the season will have a major effect on the title race.

While there is a full schedule of games this week in Spain, you'll forgive the masses if they're focused on Sunday's massive Derbi madrileño at the Vicente Calderón Stadium.

After their loss against Osasuna last week, Atlético Madrid must find a way to beat their city rivals -- a draw would be an acceptable alternative as well -- or face dropping right out of the title race after such a promising campaign. On the flip side, Real Madrid sit on top of La Liga and a win over their rivals would create a six-point gap.

Barcelona are in action on Sunday as well returning home to the Camp Nou to face Almeria. After their loss against Real Sociedad knocked them out of first yet again, the Blaugrana will be looking to rebound. Barca head coach Gerardo Martino will be serving his one-match ban after getting sent off at halftime last week's match.

There's a really, really interesting match in the relegation fight as well this week with 17th placed Málaga hosting 18th placed Real Valladolid. Los Boquerones are just three points clear of Valladolid but could expand that lead to six points with a win. The match is also important in terms of a potential head-to-head tiebreaker at the end of the season since the two teams tied in their first meeting of the season.

Villarreal and Real Sociedad continued their pursuit of Athletic Bilbao in fourth place with both teams sitting three points back of Los Leones. La Real have the toughest match of the three as they must travel to face Sevilla, while Villarreal faces last placed Real Betis and Athletic plays Granada.

Here's the full schedule for round 26 in Spain.

Friday, February 28

Athletic Bilbao vs. Granada | 2:30 p.m. ET, 8:30 p.m. CEST

Saturday, March 1

Málaga vs. Real Valladolid | 10 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. CEST

Levante vs. Osasuna | 12 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CEST

Getafe vs. Espanyol | 2 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Elche vs. Celta Vigo | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, March 2

Villarreal vs. Real Betis | 6 a.m. ET, 12 p.m. CEST

Atlético Madrid vs. Real Madrid | 11 a.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Sevilla vs. Real Sociedad | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Barcelona vs. Almeria | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Rayo Vallecano vs. Valencia | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

More from SBNation.com

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.