La Liga, Round 29 preview: El Clásico, and other points of interest

Sunday's match between Real Madrid and Barcelona is a big one, but it's not the only quality offering on La Liga's menu this week.

Welcome to round 29 of the 2013-14 Spanish Primera División! Ten exciting matches across four days, with plenty of excitement and story lines for all enjoy. Except you don't want to enjoy them...it's alright, I get it. You're just interested in Sunday's El Clásico.

It's understandable of course, meetings between Real Madrid and Barcelona have become big events over the past few years thanks to a combination of meaningful matches and media-generated excitement. We've actually had far fewer meetings between the two rivals over the past year, which is probably a good thing since some level of scarcity is important when dealing with derbies.

This edition of the Clásico is very important and definitely worth your attention, unless you're one of those people who are just enemies of fun and you're refusing to watch these games on some misguided principle. Real Madrid are in first place, four points ahead of Barcelona in the standings, so this match provides a Madrid the chance to effectively eliminate Barca from the title race. A win by Barca would propel them right back into the mix, within a point of Los Blancos. A draw would be disappointing.

There are other games of course worth your attention. Atlético Madrid currently sit in second, three points back of Real Madrid, and face a classic trap game as they travel to last place Real Betis. Real Valladolid faces Rayo Vallecano is a massive relegation six-pointer. Valladolid are three points clear of the drop zone thanks to three straight league wins and could pull further away with the victory.

6th-place Villarreal faces 8th-place Valencia with Los Che desperately trying to find points to climb back into the race for a European place next season.

While El Clásico is a big deal, it's not the only thing happening in Spain this week, so don't rob yourself of other potential enjoyment by getting too caught up in the big match on Sunday.

Here's the full schedule of games from round 29.

Friday, March 21

Celta Vigo vs. Málaga | 4 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Saturday, March 22

Granada vs. Elche | 11 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. CEST

Espanyol vs. Levante | 1 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CEST

Real Valladolid vs. Rayo Vallecano | 3 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Athletic Bilbao vs. Getafe | 5 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, March 23

Osasuna vs. Sevilla | 7 a.m. ET, 12 p.m. CEST

Real Betis vs. Atlético Madrid | 12 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Valencia vs. Villarreal | 2 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Real Madrid vs. Barcelona | 4 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Monday, March 24

Almeria vs. Real Sociedad | 5 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

More from SBNation.com

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.