Australia vs. Ecuador: Preview and TV schedule

Mike Stobe

An inexperienced Australia side take on veterans from Ecuador in London on Wednesday.

New Australia boss Ange Postecoglou is having to oversee a period of transition at the Socceroos, as many of their former greats head off into the sunset in retirement. His inexperienced squad for their friendly against Ecuador on Wednesday is a sign of things to come.

Tim Cahill features, but Mark Bresciano and Lucas Neill are among the veterans who don't. Three players could be in line for their first international caps, with only four players over 30 included in the starting 11. This is certainly a good sign for the future, though we'll have to wait see Postecoglou's faith in youth pays dividends at present.

Australia will be hoping to have a verve lacking in a much more experienced Ecuador squad. There are no debutants in Reinaldo Rueda's 20-man selection, in a team jam-packed with experience. Unsurprisingly the biggest name is Manchester United's Antonio Valencia, who will provide a key outlet for La Tri down the right. They'e a team heavily reliant on wing-play, and so the Socceroos full-backs will have to be on their game.

If they are, Australia have a good chance of being rewarded. in CONMEBOL qualifying Ecuador ony scored 20 goals -- less than every one of the other five teams who made it to Brazil. They also failed to win in the eight games they played on the road, perhaps suggesting the absence of home advantage will hit them harder than it will Australia.



Goalkeepers: Brad Jones (Liverpool), Mitchell Langerak (Borussia Dortmund), Matt Ryan (Club Brugge)

Defenders: Jason Davidson (Heracles Almelo), Ivan Franjić (Brisbane Roar), Curtis Good (Dundee United), Chris Herd (Aston Villa), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng), Matthew McKay (Brisbane Roar), Matthew Špiranović (Western Sydney Wanderers), Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow)

Midfielders: Oliver Bozanić (FC Luzern), James Holland (Austria Vienna), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), Massimo Luongo (Swindon), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht), Tommy Rogić (Melbourne Victory), Dario Vidošić (FC Sion),

Forwards: Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Ben Halloran (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Matthew Leckie (FSV Frankfurt 1899), Adam Sarota (FC Utrecht)


Goalkeepers: Máximo Banguera (Barcelona SC), Alexander Domínguez (LDU Quito), Adrián Bone (El Nacional)

Defenders: Gabriel Achilier (Emelec), Frickson Erazo (Flamengo), Óscar Bagui (Emelec) Jorge Guagua (Emelec), Juan Carlos Paredes (Barcelona SC), Walter Ayoví (Pachuca), Christian Ramírez (Fortuna Dusseldorf)

Midfielders: Antonio Valencia (Manchester United), Édison Mendéz (Santa Fe), Fernando Saritama (Barcelona SC), Christian Noboa (Dinamo Moscow), Segundo Castillo (Al-Hilal), Jefferson Montero (Morelia), Fernando Gaibor (Emelec)

Forwards: Fidel Martínez (Tijuana), Enner Valencia (Pachuca), Felipe Caicedo (Al-Jazira)

Match Date/Time: Wednesday, 8 p.m. local, 3 p.m. ET

Venue: The Den, London, England

TV: beIN Sports en Español (U.S. - Spanish), Fox Sports 3 (Australia), Fox Sports Cono Sur, DIRECTV Ecuador, Fox Sports HD (Ecuador)

Online: beIN Sports Play (U.S. and Canada)

More from

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.