La Liga, Round 35 preview: Athletic Bilbao faces Sevilla with fourth place on the line

Denis Doyle

Athletic Bilbao and Sevilla will play for fourth place, while Atlético Madrid look to continue their title march, and Real Betis could find themselves relegated.

The single biggest match of the weekend occurs on Sunday when fourth-place Athletic Bilbao welcomes fifth-place Sevilla to the San Mamés. Athletic are currently three points ahead of Sevilla for the final Champions League spot, and this match could very well be a decider. A win by Athletic would all but wrap up fourth, but a Sevilla win would move them ahead of Athletic thanks to the head-to-head tiebreaker.

The math is simple for Atlético Madrid at this point, win three more games and they'll win the title. It won't be easy though, with only one home match left this season. Their next "cup final" will be on Sunday against Valencia. Both sides are busy with European play -- Atléti in the Champions League, Valencia in the Europa League -- so it's tough to say what Los Che will do in terms of resting players.

Barcelona and Real Madrid need to keep winning to ensure that they both keep pressure on Atléti, and don't fall mathematically out of the title race. That danger is much greater for Barca as they face another must win game against Villarreal. Madrid face Osasuna with their minds likely looking ahead to the second leg of their Champions Leagues semifinal in Munich next week.

Real Betis could become the first team official relegated if they fail to defeat Real Sociedad, though even a win might not be enough.. Betis currently sit ten points from safety, and will find themselves out of La Liga if they lose to La Real on Saturday. If Betis were to win, they would only be safe until Monday where a victory by Valladolid over Celta Vigo would be enough to relegate them.

Here's the full schedule of games for round 35 of La Liga.

Friday, April 25th

Elche vs. Levante | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Saturday, April 26th

Granada vs. Rayo Vallecano| 10 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. CEST

Getafe vs. Málaga | 12 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CEST

Real Madrid vs. Osasuna | 2 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Real Betis vs. Real Sociedad | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, April 27th

Espanyol vs. Almeria | 6 a.m. ET, 12 p.m. CEST

Valencia vs. Atlético Madrid | 11 a.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Athletic Bilbao vs. Sevilla | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Villarreal vs. Barcelona | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Monday, April 28th

Celta Vigo vs. Real Valladolid | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

More from SBNation.com

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.