La Liga, Round 32 preview: Time is not on their side

Alex Caparros

Just seven rounds remain in the Spanish season and there's still plenty to be decided.

Seven rounds stand between 20 teams and the close of the 2013/14 La Liga season. A mere seven games left to decide who lifts the trophy, who claims Euopean spots and who will find themselves in the second division come the fall.

The title race remains as tight as ever with Atlético Madrid in control of their destiny at the moment. Los Colchoneros hold a slim one point advantage over Barcelona, but they must now deal with at least one match without leading scorer Diego Costa who injured himself in Champions League play. Barca are dealing with injury problems as well with starting goalkeeper Victor Valdés done for the season and Gerard Piqué facing a month out with a hip injury.

How well those two teams deal withe the injuries could determine the champion, and it could also re-open the door for Real Madrid who are three points behind the leader.

Athletic Bilbao has managed to hold on to a six-point advantage in fourth place and are closing in on claiming the final Champions League spot for themselves. Real Sociedad and Sevilla are chasing but they will need Athletic to stumble if they want to make a late season run.

The relegation battle is getting wild with six teams trying to avoid the final two places in the drop zone, currently occupied by Almeria and Osasuna. Real Valladold, Elche, Getafe and Rayo Vallecano are all in danger of finding themselves on the wrong side of the drop zone come mid-May as well. Real Betis are all but relegated and will need the footballing equivalent of a miracle to survive.

Friday, March 4th

Almeria vs. Osasuna | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Saturday, March 5th

Atlético Madrid vs. Villarreal | 10 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. CEST

Barcelona vs. Real Betis | 12 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CEST

Real Sociedad vs. Real Madrid | 2 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Rayo Vallecano vs. Celta Vigo | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, March 6th

Málaga vs. Granada | 6 a.m. ET, 12 p.m. CEST

Elche vs Getafe | 11 a.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Sevilla vs. Espanyol | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Real Valladolid vs. Valencia | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Monday, March 7th

Levante vs. Athletic Bilbao | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

More from SBNation.com

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.