La Liga, Round 36 preview: Atlético Madrid can take another step towards the title

Clive Rose

Atlético Madrid can move within a single victory of claiming the league title, Athletic Bilbao can officially claim fourth place, and the relegation battle continues to stay tight.

There are just three weeks left in the 2013/14 La Liga season. Time sure does fly when you're having fun, and thanks to the incredible title race this season, we've been having a lot of fun.

Atlético Madrid continue their quest for a league title, needing just two wins from their final three matches. Los Colchoneros shocked more than a few people on Wednesday, defeating Chelsea and setting up a Derbi madrileño in the Champions League final, and they can no return their focus to the league before trying to win the European Cup for the first time. Atléti travels to face Levante, a team that did manage to take points off Barcelona at the Estadi Ciutat de València.

Barcelona and Real Madrid must continue to win if they want to stay in the title race, along with hoping that Atléti slip-up. Real Madrid are home against Valencia, while Barcelona host Getafe.

Athletic Bilbao's win over Sevilla last week have them one win from securing fourth place. In their way is Rayo Vallecano, a team unbeaten in their last four matches. Sevilla will have to beat Villareal and hope Athletic fall in order to keep their hopes of snatching fourth place alive.

In the relegation battle, just two spots remain after Real Betis were officially dropped to the second division last week. Almeria and Real Valladolid desperately need wins to try and stay alive, while Osasuna and Getafe could take huge steps towards safety in their can secure three points.

Every team above 13th in the table is now mathematically guaranteed to remain in La Liga for next season, leaving six teams who could find themselves in the drop zone when the season comes to a close.

Here's the full schedule for round 36 in Spain.

Friday, May 2

Rayo Vallecano vs. Athletic Bilbao | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Saturday, May 3

Barcelona vs. Getafe | 10 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. CEST

Málaga vs. Elche | 12 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CEST

Osasuna vs. Celta Vigo | 2 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Real Valladolid vs. Espanyol | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, May 4

Almeria vs. Real Betis | 6 a.m. ET, 12 p.m. CEST

Levante vs. Atlético Madrid | 11 a.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Sevilla vs. Villarreal | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Real Madrid vs. Valencia | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Monday, May 5

Real Sociedad vs. Granada | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

More from SBNation.com

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.