La Liga, Round 37 preview: Just two weeks remain to decide the title, relegation battle

Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno

Last week's tumult at the top leaves Atléti and Barcelona chasing the league title, though Real Madrid aren't quite dead yet.

With just two weeks left to go in La Liga, the title race has narrowed itself down to two teams while the battle to avoid relegation is still wide open.

Let us start at the top where Atlético Madrid got the football equivalent of early Christmas presents from both Real Madrid and Barcelona. Atléti's loss against Levante was not taken advantage of be either of the title chasers as Barca drew Getafe, and Madrid dropped points twice during the week, including as shock draw against relegation battlers Real Valladolid.

That leaves Atléti holding a three point lead over Barca, and needed just two points from their final two matches to secure the title.

Down in the relegation fight, Real Betis are already out but they'll have a chance to effect the chances of Real Valladolid when they meet on Sunday. Valladolid have 36 points and are out of the relegation zone on a tiebreaker alone. Joining them in the same position is Almeria who face 15th-placed Granada is one of the biggest match of the weekend. A win for either team could earn them safety, if other results go their way.

Getafe, who are currently in 18th, face a tough test against Sevilla.

Aware of the importance of a multitude of matches, the league schedule a majority of the games for a 7pm local time kickoff on Sunday, to ensure there are no shenanigans, or accusations of such.

Here's the full schedule for round 37.

Saturday, May 10th

Villarreal vs. Rayo Vallecano | 2 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Levante vs. Valencia | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, May 11

Athletic Bilbao vs. Real Sociedad | 11 a.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Atlético Madrid vs. Málaga | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Celta Vigo vs. Real Madrid | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Elche vs Barcelona | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Espanyol vs. Osasuna | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Getafe vs. Sevlla | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Granada vs. Almeria | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Real Betis vs. Real Valladolid | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

More from SBNation.com

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.