Costa Rica denied penalty as ref misses Greece handball

Costa Rica had just gone up 1-0 when Vasilis Torosidis missed a clearing header and handled the ball.

It was a clear penalty and a chance for the Ticos to just about wrap up a place in the quarterfinals from the spot, except for one little problem -- the referee didn't award the penalty.

The referee was on the other side of the field, as was his assistant, and the whistle never went for a handball. The Costa Ricans protested, with one bench player even earning a yellow card for his disagreement, but it didn't do them any good. The referee had already made up his mind -- even if incorrectly -- and the match continued on.

Right now, Costa Rica are in control and look likely to hold onto their 1-0 lead, but there is still more than a half-hour to play. Things can very well change and if the Ticos lose having been denied a clear penalty, the referee will be right back in the spotlight.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.