Costa Rica had just gone up 1-0 when Vasilis Torosidis missed a clearing header and handled the ball.
It was a clear penalty and a chance for the Ticos to just about wrap up a place in the quarterfinals from the spot, except for one little problem -- the referee didn't award the penalty.
The referee was on the other side of the field, as was his assistant, and the whistle never went for a handball. The Costa Ricans protested, with one bench player even earning a yellow card for his disagreement, but it didn't do them any good. The referee had already made up his mind -- even if incorrectly -- and the match continued on.
Right now, Costa Rica are in control and look likely to hold onto their 1-0 lead, but there is still more than a half-hour to play. Things can very well change and if the Ticos lose having been denied a clear penalty, the referee will be right back in the spotlight.