clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

France-Ireland World Cup Qualifier: The Hand Of God Goal II

New, comments

In a 1986 World Cup quarterfinal match, Argentina defeated England, 2-1, thanks to a pair of Diego Maradona tallies, including his now infamous "Hand of God Goal." Twenty-three years later, we may have seen the Hand of God Goal II. 

↵

In today's World Cup qualifier between Ireland and France, William Gallas scored the match's equalizer in the 104th minute, which gave The Blues their ticket to South Africa. But was it a legal goal? Um, no. Gallas only got the ball after Thierry Henry blatantly stopped it from going over the touch line with his hand.

↵

↵

Pretty obvious, no? Apparently not to the referee. (And we haven't even mentioned the possible offsides call.) What are others saying? Let's check out Twitter, the voice of the the fan.

↵

runofplay:

↵
↵

Don't call it a "controversial goal." It was a visibly illegitimate goal. Controversy implies a second possible interpretation.

↵
↵

Grant Wahl:

↵
↵

Just saw clip of T Henry's disgraceful handball here on plane. Replay game?

↵
↵

tradingnothing:

↵
↵

BBC live "The Republic of Ireland have been robbed here. Robbed." a goal with 2 offsides and a hand ball... did the Ref cave in?

↵