clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

25th Anniversary Win For Hendrick Motorpsorts

Current Cup Champ Jimmie Johnson wins today on the 25th anniversary of car owner Rick Hendrick's first Sprint Cup win as a car owner.


Geoff Bodine was the winning driver 25 years ago in the Rick Hendrick owned All-Star Racing #5  Monte Carlo.


Geoff was the first winning Hendrick driver and today Jimme just go Rick his 176th win (18th at Martinsville)

If you don't think that Hendrick Motorpsorts has a handle on this track check out this stat courtsey of -  "Six of the top eight positions went to Hendrick cars (Johnson, Gordon, Martin and Earnhardt) and Hendrick affiliates (Stewart and Newman of Stewart-Haas Racing)".

Photo Credit: Jimmie Johnson - Jim McIsaac/Getty Images