clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Fan Voting Open For Most Popular Driver Among NASCAR Nationwide Series, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series And NASCAR Touring Series


DAYTONA BEACH, FL (July 6, 2009) – Beginning today, fans can visit and cast votes for the 2009 Most Popular Driver of the Year Award for the NASCAR Nationwide Series, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

In addition, will host the balloting for each of NASCAR’s regional touring series – the NASCAR Camping World Series East and West, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour, NASCAR Mexico Series and NASCAR Canadian Tire Series.

Last year – the first season NASCAR fans were asked to choose the most popular drivers in these series – more than 250,000 combined votes were cast among the eight series.

This year, fans also may “write in” their favorite driver if he/she is not among the nominees for a specific series. Fans should go to and submit their write-in vote.

Fans may vote or submit a write-in candidate once per day and are encouraged to vote throughout the season. Balloting ends Sept. 25 for the NASCAR Camping World Series East; Sept. 26 for both the NASCAR Camping World Series West and the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series; Oct. 10 for the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour; Oct. 18 for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour; Nov. 22 for the NASCAR Mexico Series and Oct. 31 for both the NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

Last year’s winners were: Brad Keselowski (NASCAR Nationwide Series); Johnny Benson (NASCAR Camping World Truck Series); Ricky Carmichael (NASCAR Camping World Series East); Moses Smith (NASCAR Camping World Series West); Ted Christopher (NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour); Bobby Hutchens Jr. (NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour); Carlos Contreras (NASCAR Mexico Series) and DJ Kennington (NASCAR Canadian Tire Series).

Results will be announced at each of the respective series’ season-end banquets.