clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brian Cushing Wins AP Re-Vote, Will Retain Rookie Of The Year Award

After all the debate, Texans LB Brian Cushing retained his rookie of the year award, the Houston Chronicle reports.

Associated Press voters turned in their ballots for rookie of the year a second time -- this time, though, they had full knowledge of Cushing's violation of the league's policy on performance-enhancing drugs.

The first time around, Cushing received 39 of 50 first place votes. This time he received 18.

Bills S Jairus Byrd came in second place once again with 13 votes. He received six the first time.

Packers LB Clay Matthews got 10 votes which is up from three the last time.

Redskins LB Brian Orakpo gained one vote moving from two to three.

Rams LB James Laurinaitis, who didn't receive a vote the first time, had one the second go around.

That's 45 total votes. Three of the voters were unavailable and two abstained. ESPN's Chris Mortensen was one of the folks that abstained.

Check out SB Nation's Battle Red Blog for a Texans perspective.