clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2010 John Deere Classic, Round 3: Steve Stricker Makes Course History

Entering this year's John Deere Classic, the the tournament's all-time scoring record was held by J.P. Hayes, who scored 22-under in 2002. This year, Steve Stricker in position to shatter Hayes' record.

Stricker shot 9-under during Saturday's round 3, marking birdies in six of his final nine holes. This puts him at a remarkable 25-under for the tournament, following an 11-under round 1 and a 5-under round 2. He's already set the 36-hole record at TPC Deere Run.

Tied for a distant second are Paul Goydos and Jeff Maggert, who sit at 19-under for the tournament.

Here's how the leaderboard looks near the top:

1. Steve Stricker (-25)
T2. Paul Goydos (-19)
T2. Jeff Maggert
4. Matt Jones (-16)
5. Shaun Micheel (-15)
6. Brendan de Jonge (-13)

You can follow the live leaderboard here. And for more on the PGA Tour, check out SB Nation's golf blog, Waggle Room.