clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 MLB All-Star Game Starting Lineups Announced

On the heels of Ubaldo Jimenez and David Price being named starting pitchers for Tuesday's All-Star Game, managers Charlie Manuel and Joe Girardi also named their respective starting lineups. They are:

National League

Hanley Ramirez, SS
Martin Prado, 2B
Albert Pujols, 1B
Ryan Howard, DH
David Wright, 3B
Ryan Braun, LF
Andre Ethier, CF
Corey Hart, RF
Yadier Molina, C

American League

Ichiro, RF
Derek Jeter, SS
Miguel Cabrera, 1B
Josh Hamilton, CF
Vladimir Guerrero, DH
Evan Longoria, 3B
Joe Mauer, C
Robinson Cano, 2B
Carl Crawford, LF

No big surprises here, other than Howard being named the NL's cleanup hitter against a left-handed starting pitcher in Price who has limited lefty bats to a .225 career average. But then that's getting a little too analytical over a game that, in truth, deserves little analysis.

It's worth noting that All-Star Yadier Molina has the fourth-lowest OPS in baseball among players with at least 250 trips to the plate.