clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

SB Nation's July NASCAR Twitter Rankings

New, comments
Getty Images for NASCAR

These days, change is everywhere. In order to keep things from getting stale, change is necessary and even encouraged.

That's why we're changing things up for the NASCAR Twitter Rankings this month.

Previously, we ranked drivers and other NASCAR personalities according to their total number of followers. This list is now ordered based on how many followers gained in the last month alone (or at least since we last checked).

Below are their totals from early June to early July. As you'll see, the top three remained the same – but there are significant shakeups as you scroll down the rankings.

One of the most notable aspects of this month's rankings is that DeLana Harvick gained more followers than her husband Kevin after the "She wears the firesuit in the family" fallout from Pocono.

Also worth noting: Three of the top four drivers have international appeal (ex-Formula One drivers), and Kyle Busch's fiancee Samantha Sarcinella gained more followers than Kenny Wallace last month despite having a big deficit overall.

As a reminder, here is the criteria for who is eligible for this list: Any current driver or team owner, their wives or significant others, crew chiefs, spotters, engineers and other family members. At this time, media and public relations accounts (including tracks, sponsors, teams and drivers who don't tweet for themselves) are not eligible.

1 (1 in overall followers). Danica Patrick (@danicapatrick): 17,969

2 (2). Juan Pablo Montoya (@jpmontoya): 15,314

3 (3). Nelson Piquet Jr. (@nelsonpiquet): 4,958

4 (12). Narain Karthikeyan (@narainracing): 3,886

5 (11). DeLana Harvick (@delanaharvick): 2,790 

6 (4). Kevin Harvick (@kevinharvick): 2,568

7 (6). Kasey Kahne (@kaseykahne): 2,354

8 (10). Kyle Busch  (@kylebusch): 1,997

9 (7). Denny Hamlin (@dennyhamlin): 1,951

10 (14). Ricky Carmichael (@rickycarmichael): 1,444

11 (17). Martin Truex Jr. (@martintruexjr56): 1,268

12 (9). Elliott Sadler (@elliott_sadler): 1,244

13 (5). Michael Waltrip (@mw55): 1,114

14 (13). Jamie McMurray (@jamiemcmurray): 1,105

15 (16). Scott Speed (@scottspeed): 931

16 (19). Max Papis (@maxpapis): 891

17 (70). David Reutimann (@davidreutimann): 881 

18 (25). Samantha Sarcinella (@samsarcinella): 838

19 (8). Kenny Wallace (@kenny_wallace): 782

20 (18). Brian Vickers (@brianlvickers): 749

21 (15). Bobby Labonte (@bobby_labonte): 687

22 (21). Greg Biffle (@gbiffle): 674

23 (23). Krissie Newman (@krissienewman): 657

24 (24). AJ Allmendinger (@ajdinger): 633

25 (22). Colin Braun (@colinbraun): 536

26 (27). Brad Keselowski (@keselowski): 497

27 (20). Robby Gordon (@robbygordon): 476

28 (51). Ron Hornaday (@ronhornaday): 433

29 (28). Amanda Speed (@amanda_speed): 367

30 (32). Justin Allgaier (@j_allgaier12): 329

31 (35). Aric Almirola (@aric_almirola): 326

32 (29). David Ragan (@david_ragan): 304

33 (26). Steve Wallace (@stevewallace66): 288

34 (62). Brett Griffin (@19spotter): 285

35 (48). Brendan Gaughan (@brendan62): 284 

Honorable mention (others who gained more than 200 followers this month):

 

  • Sherry Pollex (@sherrypollex): 264
  • Trevor Bayne (@tbayne99): 257
  • T.J. Majors (@tjmajors): 251
  • Jennifer Jo Cobb (@jenjocobb): 248
  • Brad Coleman (@bradccoleman): 238
  • Jason White (@jasonwhite23): 235
  • Jordan Fish (@jordan_fish): 233
  • Ryan Truex (@rtruex00): 227
  • Regan Smith (@regan_smith_): 213
  • JJ Yeley (@jjyeley1): 210