clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Major League Soccer Announces All-Star Reserves

Major League Soccer has filled-out the All-Star team that will face Manchester United at Reliant Stadium on July 28.

With today's announcement of 11 selections by All-Star manager Bruce Arena and two choices from Commissioner Don Garber, Major League Soccer's All-Star team has 23 members, today's 13 added to the previously named starters.  The 23-man team will take on the English Premier League giants in a match that will be televised on ESPN2 and TeleFutura.

In goal, Arena has named Real Salt Lake's Nick Rimando to back-up LA Galaxy's Donovan Ricketts, the match's starter.

In defense, Kevin Alston (New England), Wilman Conde (Chicago), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), and Heath Pearce (FC Dallas) where selected to a team that will start Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Chad Marshall (Columbus), and Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake).

In midfield, Arena has named five reserves:  Brad Davis (Houston), David Ferreira (FC Dallas), Shalrie Joseph (New England), Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado) and Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia).  That quintet will join starters Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto), Javier Morales (Real Salt Lake), Marco Pappa (Chicago), and Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus), with Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), originally selected to start the match but unable to participate due to injury.

At forward, Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy) and Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy) will be joined by Juan Pablo Angel (New York) and the two commissioner's choices:  Brian Ching (Houston) and Jaime Moreno (D.C. United).

2010 Major League Soccer All-Star Team

Goalkeepers (2):  Donovan Ricketts*, Nick Rimando

Defenders (7):  Kevin Alston, Jonathan Bornstein, Wilman Conde, Omar Gonzalez*, Chad Marshall*, Jamison Olave*, Heath Pearce

Midfielders (9):  Brad Davis, Dwayne De Rosario*, David Ferreira, Shalrie Joseph, Jeff Larentowicz, Sebastien Le Toux, Javier Morales*, Marco Pappa*, Guillermo Barros Schelotto*

Forwards (5):  Juan Pablo Angel, Edson Buddle*, Brian Ching, Landon Donovan*, Jaime Moreno

* - starter