clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


New, comments
Cook, Ingram, Inman, Lorenzen, Robertson Are New Names

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (July 1, 2010) – NASCAR announced today the list of 25 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s second induction class. From that list, five inductees will be chosen via a process that includes a nationwide fan vote on NASCAR.COM.
The 2011 inductee class will be announced in October and honored next year at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C.
 This year’s inaugural induction class consisted of Dale Earnhardt, Junior Johnson, Bill France Jr., Bill France Sr. and Richard Petty.
The second round of nominees, which again includes many of the sport’s legendary names, were selected by a 21-person nominating committee consisting of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame and track owners from both major facilities and historic short tracks. The committee’s votes were tabulated by accounting firm Ernst & Young.
Joining the 21-person committee this year is Jody Deery, owner of acclaimed quarter-mile short track Rockford (Ill.) Speedway. She replaces Tom Blackwell, former owner of Greenville (S.C.) Pickens Speedway, who passed away in April.
The HOF’s inductees will be determined by the Voting Panel, which has 53 members – the entire Nominating Committee, media members, manufacturer representatives, retired competitors (drivers, owners, crew chiefs) and recognized industry leaders. In addition, the fan vote will result in the Voting Panel’s 53rd and final ballot. Four new members will join the Voting Panel this year: Richard Petty, Kyle Petty of TNT, legendary media member Chris Economaki, and Jim Campbell of Chevrolet.
Following are the 25 nominees:
§Bobby Allison, 1983 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races
§Buck Baker,first driver to win consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
§Red Byron, first NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, in 1949
§Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
§Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion
§Richie Evans,nine-time NASCAR Modified champion
§Tim Flock, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
§Rick Hendrick, 12-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
§Jack Ingram, two-time NASCAR Nationwide Series champion
§Dale Inman, eight-time NASCAR Sprint Cup championship crew chief
§Ned Jarrett, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
§Fred Lorenzen, 26 wins and winner of the Daytona 500 and World 600
§Bud Moore, 63 wins and two NASCAR Sprint Cup titles as a car owner
§Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner
§Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
§David Pearson, 105 victories and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
§Lee Petty, winner of first Daytona 500 and first three-time series champion
§Fireball Roberts, won 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup races, including the 1962 Daytona 500
§T. Wayne Robertson, helped raise NASCAR popularity as R.J. Reynolds Senior VP
§Herb Thomas, first two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, 1951 and ‘53
§Curtis Turner, early personality, called the “Babe Ruth of stock car racing” 
§Darrell Waltrip, winner of 84 races and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
§Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
§Glen Wood, as driver, laid foundation for Wood Brothers’ future team success
§Cale Yarborough, winner of three consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup titles, 1976-78