clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alberto Contador Wins 2010 Tour de France

The ceremonial 20th stage of the Tour de France, the Champs-Élysées, has concluded, and Alberto Contador is officially our winner. This is his third Tour de France win in four years.

Contador is the consensus best cyclist in the world, but Andy Schleck mounted an unexpected challenge throughout the Tour and delivered the message that while Contador may be the best, he is beatable. Schleck finished a mere 39 seconds behind Contador overall.

Lance Armstrong of Team RadioShack finished in 23rd, dashing his ambitions to win an unprecedented eighth Tour, but RadioShack finished better than any other team.

Mark Cavendish won the final stage. He finished 154th overall.

The top ten in the general classification:

1. Alberto Contador
2. Andy Schleck
3. Denis Menchov
4. Samuel Sanchez
5. Jurgen Van Den Broeck
6. Robert Gesink
7. Ryder Hesjedal
8. Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver
9. Roman Kreuziger
10. Christopher Horner

There will be plenty of reaction and analysis from our cycling blog, Podium Cafe, so head over there for more.