clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Nationwide Preview: The U.S. Cellular 250 From Iowa Speedway

It's that time again, folks. It's time for Nationwide Series racing at it's finest. Saturday night will mark the fourth consecutive night race on the B-Series' schedule, this time at Iowa Speedway. 

Iowa Speedway is a state-of-the-art 7/8th of a mile asphalt tri-oval located in Newton, Iowa, just 30 miles east of Des Moines, Iowa. The facility is owned and operated by U.S. Motorsport Corporation and was designed by former Cup Series Champion (and Nationwide color analyst) Rusty Wallace.

Iowa is designed for several disciplines of motor racing and has a maximum capacity of 25,000. Most notably, it was designed as the first track in the world to protect it's fans and drivers through the use of the SAFER barriers that surrounds the entire perimeter of the track.

This should result in a tight and exciting race with several cautions and competitive green flag stretches. I expect a great race but It may be just a bit much to ask for a new winner. Lastly, take a close look at how Carl Edwards and Brad Keslowski react to each other.  Short track racing isn't exactly a gentleman's game and usually feeds the fire that are NASCAR fueds.

An Entry List, News and more after can be found after the JUMP!

Ent. Car # Driver Sponsor Manu Owner
1 01 Mike Wallace JD Motorsports 10 Chevy Lori Davis
2 02 Daryl Harr WestWorld Computers 09 Chevy Carl Harr
3 04 Jeremy Clements Boudreaux's Butt Paste 10 Chevy Gene Vess
4 05 Blake Koch 31-W Insulation 10 Chevy Wayne Day
5 6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr Citifinancial 10 Ford Jack Roush
6 7 Josh Wise GoDaddy-HowDoYou?.com 10 Chevy Bryan Mullet
7 09 John Wes Townley Zaxby's 10 Ford Robby Benton
8 10 Tayler Malsam Braun Racing 08 Toyota Todd Braun
9 11 Brian Scott AccuDoc 10 Toyota Harry Scott Jr
10 12 Justin Allgaier Verizon Wireless 10 Dodge Roger Penske
11 15 Michael Annett Pilot Travel Centers 10 Toyota Bob Germain
12 16 Colin Braun 3M 10 Ford Jack Roush
13 18 Kyle Busch Z-Line 10 Toyota Joe Gibbs
14 20 Matt Dibenedetto Pizza Ranch 10 Toyota Joe Gibbs
15 21 Morgan Shepherd TBA 10 Chevy Richard Childress
16 22 Brad Keselowski Discount Tire 10 Dodge Jodi Geschickter
17 23 Robert Richardson Jr R3 Motorsports 09 Chevy Robert Richardson
18 24 Eric McClure Hefty Odor Block 09 Ford Ed Rensi
19 26 Brian Keselowski TBA 10 Dodge Bob Keselowski
20 27 Drew Herring Baker Curb Racing 10 Ford Mike Curb
21 28 Kenny Wallace Federated Auto Parts 10 Chevy Jay Robinson
22 32 Reed Sorenson Dollar General Stores 08 Toyota Todd Braun
23 33 Kevin Harvick Jimmy John's 10 Chevy Delana Harvick
24 34 Tony Raines Long John Silvers 10 Chevy Bob Jenkins
25 35 Jason Keller TriStar Motorsports 10 Chevy Mark Smith
26 36 Jeff Green TriStar Motorsports 10 Chevy Mark Smith
27 38 Jason Leffler Great Clips 08 Toyota Ralph Braun
28 40 Mike Bliss TBA 10 Chevy Curtis Key Sr
29 43 Brad Baker Baker Curb Racing 10 Ford Mike Curb
30 49 Mark Green Jay Robinson Inc. 10 Chevy Jay Robinson
31 52 Tim Schendel Jimmy Means Racing 10 Chevy Jimmy Means
32 56 Kevin Lepage 10 Chevy John McNelly
33 60 Carl Edwards FASTENAL 10 Ford Jack Roush
34 61 Matthew Carter Specialty Racing 10 Ford Doug Taylor
35 62 Brendan Gaughan South Point Hotel & Casino 09 Toyota Rusty Wallace
36 66 Steve Wallace 5 Hour Energy 09 Toyota Rusty Wallace
37 70 Shelby Howard 10 Chevy Mary Louise Miller
38 81 Michael McDowell TBA 10 Dodge Pat MacDonald
39 83 John Borneman III Red Line Oil / Twisted X Boots 09 Ford John Borneman Jr
40 87 Joe Nemechek NEMCO Motorsports 09 Chevy Andrea Nemechek
41 88 Steve Arpin RealTree Outfitters 10 Chevy Dale Earnhardt Jr
42 89 Johnny Chapman Victory in Jesus Racing 10 Chevy Cindy Shepherd
43 90 Danny O'Quinn Jr D'Hondt-Humphrey Motorsports 09 Chevy Eddie D'hondt
44 91 Chase Miller D'Hondt-Humphrey Motorsports 09 Chevy Randy Humphrey
45 92 Dennis Setzer K-Automotive 10 Dodge Brian Keselowski
46 98 Paul Menard MASTERCRAFT/MENARDS 10 Ford Jack Roush
47 99 Trevor Bayne Aaron's Dream Machine 10 Toyota Michael Waltrip


There are 47 cars on the entry list, which means that four are going home this week.

Other notes on this weeks entries:

Canadian driver Daryl Harr will try to make just his second Nationwide Race. Last year Harr made five attempts in the RIck Ware owned #31 Chevy. He only made one of those starts, Phoenix, where he blew an engine and finished 31st. For the Iowa race, Harr will drive his own car.

Blake Koch will attempt to make his third career Nationwide race and his first attempt this season. Koch raced last year for McDonald Motorsports, which fields Michael McDowell's #81 Dodge. Koch missed a race last year driving for Wayne Day in the #05.  We wish him different luck for the Iowa 250 on Saturday.

John Wes Townley will return to the #09 Ford. Townley has taken his Zaxby's Sponsorship with him. With Zaxby's gone, Morgan Shepherd will again drive the #21 entry.

Drew Herring will attempt to make his very first Nationwide Race at Iowa, driving for Baker Curb in the #27. There is no word on if he will be start and parking or attempting to run the full race.

It was a week of fines as well. Carl Edwards has been fined both 60 NASCAR Nationwide Series Championship driver points, fined $25,000 and placed on NASCAR probation until Dec. 31. Brad Keselowski is also on probation until Dec. 31st.

The #88 team had a left front shock that would not rebound, so Crew chief Tony Eury Sr. has been fined $10,000, while owner Dale Earnhardt Jr. and driver Aric Almirola have been penalized with the loss of 25 championship owner and 25 championship driver points, respectively.

Dover Motorsports, Inc. announced that its sister operation, Gateway International Raceway has notified NASCAR that it will not seek 2011 sanctions for its two Nationwide Series and one Camping World Truck Series races. Vice President and General Manager of Gateway, Terry Harmeson spoke saying, "This was a difficult decision in light of the many years of earnest and continued efforts on everyone's part to develop a viable market for these events in one of our nation's greatest cities.

"We remain committed to fulfill the balance of our 2010 schedule including our October 23rd NASCAR Nationwide race which will provide our fans the opportunity to see Danica Patrick compete here for the first time. We also plan to explore various ways to change the economics at Gateway both from the revenue and expense side." Denis McGlynn, President & CEO of Dover Motorsports, stated, "We have a group of extremely dedicated and talented employees who make Gateway a great destination and we deeply appreciate all the support we have had from the racing community over the years from racing fans and drivers to sponsors, team owners and sanctioning bodies. However, economics dictate that we evaluate all of our options for this facility, including its possible sale."

ESPN2 will once again carry the event with the national broadcast slated for a 7:00 p.m./et start time on July 31st. Green flag is set for 7:15. Enjoy!