clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 PGA Championship: Dustin Johnson Penalized Two Strokes, Out Of Playoff

Dustin Johnson has assessed a penalty on himself for grounding his club in what has been determined to be a bunker, where his tee shot landed at the 18th hole. The two-stroke penalty will give him a triple bogey seven on 18 and get him out of the playoff by that penalty.

On the local rules sheet for the week, the PGA of America said there are no “waste areas,” including those in which the crowd was standing. By grounding his club in the bunker then, Johnson violated the rules.