clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Birthplace of Feuds: The Food City 250 Bristol Nationwide Preview

That's right folks, it's time for the king of Short Tracks, the Birthplace of Feuds, the Crucible of motorsports: Bristol Motor Speedway.  Bristol is by far my favorite short track.  Every state has a short track like Bristol, but you never see anything near the quality of racing that you do at Bristol.  If last night's Truck Race is any indication, we are in for a wild ride.  Kyle Busch is looking to go 2 for 2 this weekend, and if he clears this one, he'll try to go 3 for 3 Saturday night.  The other two guys who are triple duty this week didn't fare so well last night.  Elliott Sadler wrecked twice, Brad Keselowski spun and had a hard fight back into the top 10.  This is the last season that we will see the old Nationwide Cars, so let's give the last generation a wild sendoff.

Entry List and more after the JUMP!

Ent. Car # Driver Sponsor Manu. Owner
1 0 Brad Teague TBA 10 Chevy Johnny Davis
2 01 Mike Wallace 10 Chevy Lori Davis
3 1 Ryan Newman Phoenix Construction 10 Chevy James Finch
4 04 Jeremy Clements Boudreaux's Butt Paste 10 Chevy Gene Vess
5 05 Willie Allen 31-W Insulation 10 Chevy Wayne Day
6 6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr Citifinancial 10 Ford Jack Roush
7 7 Josh Wise Hot Wheels 10 Chevy Bryan Mullet
8 07 Danny Efland Danny Efland Racing 10 Chevy Thomas Efland Jr
9 09 John Wes Townley TBA 10 Ford Robby Benton
10 10 Jason Leffler Fraternal Order of Eagles 08 Toyota Todd Braun
11 11 Brian Scott AccuDoc 10 Toyota Harry Scott Jr
12 12 Justin Allgaier Verizon Wireless 10 Dodge Roger Penske
13 15 Michael Annett Pilot Travel Centers 10 Toyota Bob Germain
14 16 Brian Ickler Roush Fenway Racing 10 Ford Jack Roush
15 18 Kyle Busch Z Line 10 Toyota Joe Gibbs
16 20 Joey Logano GameStop 10 Toyota Joe Gibbs
17 21 Clint Bowyer ZAXBY'S 10 Chevy Richard Childress
18 22 Brad Keselowski Discount Tire 10 Dodge Jodi Geschickter
19 23 Robert Richardson Jr R3 Motorsports 09 Chevy Robert Richardson
20 24 Eric McClure Hefty Odor Block 09 Ford Ed Rensi
21 26 Brian Keselowski K-Automotive Motorsports 10 Dodge Bob Keselowski
22 27 Danny O'Quinn Jr Heil Trailers 10 Ford Mike Curb
23 28 Kenny Wallace Chloe Duyck Foundation 10 Chevy Jay Robinson
24 32 Reed Sorenson Dollar General 08 Toyota Todd Braun
25 33 Elliott Sadler Rheem Heating and Air Conditioning Chevy 10 Chevy Delana Harvick
26 34 Tony Raines Long John Silvers 10 Chevy Bob Jenkins
27 35 Jason Keller Food Country USA 10 Chevy Mark Smith
28 36 Jeff Green TBA 10 Chevy Mark Smith
29 38 Kasey Kahne Great Clips 08 Toyota Ralph Braun
30 39 Sean Caisse Rimz One 09 Ford Archie St Hilaire
31 40 Mike Bliss Westerman Companies 10 Chevy Curtis Key Sr
32 42 Parker Kligerman Pelletier Brothers Lumber 10 Dodge Eddie Smith
33 43 Drew Herring TBA 10 Ford Mike Curb
34 49 Mark Green FX Networks 10 Chevy Jay Robinson
35 52 Chris Lawson My 3 Sons Vending 10 Chevy Jimmy Means
36 56 Kevin Lepage TBA 10 Chevy John McNelly
37 60 Carl Edwards FASTENAL 10 Ford Jack Roush
38 61 J.J. Yeley TBA 10 Ford Doug Taylor
39 62 Brendan Gaughan South Point Hotel & Casino 10 Toyota Rusty Wallace
40 66 Steve Wallace 5 Hour Energy 10 Toyota Rusty Wallace
41 70 Shelby Howard Foretravel 10 Chevy Mary Louise Miller
42 73 Derrike Cope Charter Dodge 09 Dodge Derrike Cope
43 75 Johnny Chapman Victory in Jesus Racing 10 Chevy Dana Tomes
44 76 Ryan Hackett 10 Ford Ray Hackett
45 81 Michael McDowell K-Love 10 Dodge Pat MacDonald
46 87 Joe Nemechek TBA 09 Chevy Andrea Nemechek
47 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr Realtree Outfitters 10 Chevy Dale Earnhardt Jr
48 89 Morgan Shepherd Victory in Jesus Racing 10 Chevy Cindy Shepherd
49 90 Chase Miller D'Hondt-Humphrey Motorsports 09 Chevy Eddie D'hondt
50 91 David Gilliland D'Hondt-Humphrey Motorsports 09 Chevy Randy Humphrey
51 98 Paul Menard RICHMOND/MENARDS 10 Ford Jack Roush
52 99 Trevor Bayne Out! Pet Care 10 Toyota Michael Waltrip


That's a lot of cars so that means  9 Cars will miss the race.  Let's look at  some interesting details about the entry list:

Brad Teague will return to action this week driving a JD Motorsports Chevy.

Ryan Newman is back again.  He's gonna be one to look out for in this race.

Jason Leffler moves to the #10 Toyota this week. As Kasey Kahne is in his #38 Toyota.

Clint Bowyer returns to the #21 this week, which means that Morgan Shepherd will have to qualify on time.

Danny O'Quinn will drive the #27 this week.  The team claims it will attempt to run the entire race.

Triple Duty Elliott Sadler will drive Kevin Harvick's #33 Chevy.  Harvick is ready to focus on winning in the cup series now that he is locked into the chase.

Jeff Green enters a third TriStar Chevy this week.

Sean Caisse will pilot the Go Green #39 Ford this week. 

Parker Kligerman returns to action this week.

Drew Herring will make his second attempt in the #43 Ford

J.J. Yeley will drive the #61 this week - this could be a start and park team this week.

Johnny Chapman will drive the #75 this week.

Ryan Hackett will attempt to move his struggling Truck team up to Nationwide this week.

and finally, Dale Earnhardt Jr returns to action this week.  He announced that Aric Almirola will drive the #88 next year full time.  Almirola could hop in the car later this year.

The Nationwide Series schedule was released.  Next year will consist of 34 races, all featuring the new car.
Iowa Speedway, which joined the schedule in 2009, receives a second date in 2011 and a new date has been added at Chicagoland Speedway on Saturday, June 4.  Last season's successful inaugural event at the Road America road course in Wisconsin returns in 2011 on Saturday June, 25, the weekend before the Friday July, 1 race at Daytona International Speedway.  A previous stand-alone event at Kentucky Speedway now will be part of the inaugural NASCAR Sprint Cup/NASCAR Nationwide Series weekend on Friday July, 8.

The NASCAR Nationwide Series will be paired with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series on three weekends, at Nashville Superspeedway on Saturday April, 23 and Saturday July, 23 and at O'Reilly Raceway Park at Indianapolis on Saturday July, 30.  Thanks Jayski!

You are really gonna want to watch this race tomorrow night.  If your gonna set your DVR to record, make sure you set it past the end of this race.  Otherwise you may miss the end.  Tune in Friday Night at 7:30pm to ESPN to catch the Food City 250 from Bristol, TN.  Enjoy!