clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Presidents Cup 2011: United States Looks To Continue Dominance

The Unites States Presidents Cup team travels to Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Australia November 17-20 attempting to retain the cup, following a 5-point victory in 2009.

The United States looks to continue its Presidents Cup dominance over the International Team November 17-20 at Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Australia. In the brief, 17-year history of this matchplay event, the U.S. Team holds a 6-1-1 advantage over the International Team which is comprised of players from the rest of the world, sans Europe.

While The Presidents Cup doesn't have as rich a history as the Ryder Cup, there is still plenty of buzz around this year's 9th installment and, you guessed it, Tiger Woods. US Team captain Fred Couples has received plenty of criticism for selecting Tiger as one of his captain's picks. Among those critical has been International captain, Greg Norman:

I can understand the name of Tiger Woods and his history and what he's done on the golf course. But I pick the guys who I think are ready to get in there and play and have performed to the highest levels leading up to it. 

Will this add fuel to Tiger Woods and the U.S. Team's fire? Woods was impressive in his last Presidents Cup appearance, going 5-0-0, and his last win did come at the Australian Masters in 2009. This should make for an exciting week down under.  

Here's a quick breakdown of the Presidents Cup 2011 schedule and teams:


Thursday, 11/17: Foursomes (6 matches)

Friday, 11/18: Four-ball (6 matches)

Saturday, 11/19: Foursomes (5 matches), Four-ball (5 matches)

Sunday, 11/20: Singles Match Play (12 matches)

U.S. Team:

Matt Kuchar, Steve Stricker, Dustin Johnson, Webb Simpson, Nick Watney, Phil Mickelson, Bubba Watson, David Toms, Hunter Mahan, Jim Furyk, Bill Hass (captain's pick), Tiger Woods (captain's pick)

International Team:

Jason Day, Adam Scott, Charl Schwartzel, K.J. Choi, Kyung-tai Kim, Retief Goosen, Geoff Ogilvy, Ernie Els, Y.E. Yang, Ryo Ishikawa, Robert Allenby (captain's pick), Aaron Baddeley (captain's pick)

Visit for more information.