clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

College Baseball Selection Show Lays Out 2011 Bracket For Teams To Reach Omaha

The 64 teams who qualified for the NCAA baseball postseason tournament have been revealed and now the road to Omaha for the College World Series is underway in earnest. Monday's selection show laid out the postseason and it was highlighted by the absence of one team. LSU, the six-time national champions, were left out of the field of 64. Not that it was a surprise after a down year for the Tigers, but one of the most historic programs with one of the nation's most rabid fan bases will be watching the postseason form home.

The top eight national seeds who will host a Regional and if they win their Regional, host a Super Regional begin with with the nation's top team, Virginia. Led by projected top five pick Danny Hultzen, who is both the Cavaliers' ace and hits, Virginia is in position to go to the College World Series for the second time in program history. The other national seeds are Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida St., Vanderbilt, Texas and RIce.

Postseason play begins on Friday with the Regionals at 16 campus sites around the country. There are 16 Regionals with four teams in each. The teams play a double-elimination tournament over the course of the weekend with the 16 winners moving on to the Super Regionals. The Super Regionals is a best of three series with the eight winners moving on to the College World Series.

Once the teams get to Omaha, they will be going somewhere unfamiliar. That is because the home of the College World Series for the last 50 years, Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium, is no more. This year the College World Series moved to downtown Omaha and the brand new TD Ameritrade Park. Who will be the first team to raise the NCAA championship trophy aloft at the new ballpark? Whoever it is will begin the journey there on Friday.

Charlottesville Regional

1) Virginia 2) East Carolina 3) St. John's 4) Navy

Los Angeles Regional

1) UCLA 2) Fresno St. 3) UC Irvine 4) San Francisco

Fort Worth Regional

1) TCU 2) Oklahoma 3) Dallas Baptist 4) Oral Roberts

Houston Regional

1) Rice 2) Baylor 3) California 5) Oral Roberts

Tallahassee Regional

1) Florida St. 2) Central Florida 3) Alabama 4) Bethune-Cookman

College Station Regional

1) Texas A&M 2) Arizona 3) Seton Hall 4) Wright St.

Clemson Regional

1) Clemson 2) Connecticut 3) Costal Carolina 4) Sacred Heart

Columbia Regional

1) South Carolina 2) Stetson 3) N.C. State 4) Georgia Southern

Gainesville Regional

1) Florida 2) Miami 3) Jacksonville 4) Manhattan

Atlanta Regional

1) Georgia Tech 2) Southern Miss 3) Mississippi St. 4) Austin Peay

Tempe Regional

1) Arizona St. 2) Arkansas 3) Charlotte 4) New Mexico

Austin Regional

1) Texas 2) Texas St. 3) Kent St. 4) Princeton

Nashville Regional

1) Vanderbilt 2) Oklahoma St. 3) Troy 4) Belmont

Corvallis Regional

1) Oregon St. 2) Creighton 3) Georgia 4) Arkansas Little Rock

Fullerton Regional

1) Cal St. Fullerton 2) Stanford 3) Kansas St. 4) Illinois

Chapel Hill Regional

1) North Carolina 2) Florida International 3) James Madison 4) Maine