clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Watkins Glen Race Results: Marcos Ambrose Wins As Huge Crash Mars Finish

After a long wait and several heartbreaking setbacks, Marcos Ambrose is finally a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series winner.

Ambrose, the Australian regarded as NASCAR's top road racing talent, won Monday's delayed race at Watkins Glen, passing Brad Keselowski on the penultimate lap and dashing to the checkered flag as chaos ensued behind him.

Kyle Busch had the lead on a restart, but made a mistake and got too wide into the first corner. That allowed Keselowski to get by, and Ambrose then caught Keselowski.

When Ambrose reached Keselowski's rear bumper, Ambrose nudged him out of the way and went on to take the lead.

On the final lap, Boris Said got into the side of David Ragan, who hit a barrier at a bad angle and ricocheted back onto the track. He then hit David Reutimann, who got airborne and smashed the wall in a terrifying incident.

You can see that below (fast forwarded to the 4:15 mark):

The finish was shaping up to be a two-man duel between Busch and Ambrose, but Paul Menard suddenly blew a tire and hit the wall with five laps to go.

Suddenly, that set the stage for a green-white-checkered restart with the entire field bunched together.

It wasn't just Menard who had a problem with overheating brakes – and thus blown tires.

Kurt Busch nailed the wall and ended his day early, and Denny Hamlin followed with an even scarier head-on collision with the tire barrier when his brakes failed following a blown tire.

Here are the NASCAR Watkins Glen results from today:

  1. Marcos Ambrose
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Juan Pablo Montoya
  8. AJ Allmendinger
  9. Jeff Burton
  10. Jimmie Johnson
  11. Clint Bowyer
  12. Carl Edwards
  13. Jeff Gordon
  14. Matt Kenseth
  15. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  16. Ryan Newman
  17. Jamie McMurray
  18. Brian Vickers
  19. Bobby Labonte
  20. Casey Mears
  21. Andy Lally
  22. Boris Said
  23. Regan Smith
  24. Robby Gordon
  25. Mark Martin
  26. Kasey Kahne
  27. Tony Stewart
  28. David Ragan
  29. David Reutimann
  30. Ron Fellows
  31. Greg Biffle
  32. Paul Menard
  33. David Gilliland
  34. Terry Labonte
  35. Andrew Ranger
  36. Denny Hamlin
  37. T.J. Bell
  38. Kurt Busch
  39. Scott Speed
  40. Joe Nemechek
  41. Michael McDowell
  42. JJ Yeley
  43. Mike Skinner