clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NASCAR Michigan Results: Kyle Busch Holds Off Jimmie Johnson To Win Fourth Race Of 2011

Kyle Busch picked up his fourth NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory of the season on Sunday, holding off Jimmie Johnson on a green-white-checkered finish to win at Michigan International Speedway.

Busch's victory resulted in a clinched spot for this season's Chase, where he has a good chance of being the top seed when the playoff field is set in three more weeks.

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver had passed Johnson with 12 laps to go and was set to cruise to the finish line, but his older brother, Kurt, suddenly blew a tire with five laps remaining and got into the wall.

The caution for the elder Busch set up a green-white-checkered finish, and the top seven cars stayed out to keep their track position.

That set up the final duel between Busch and Johnson, who started side-by-side on the two-lap shootout. Busch, known as the best driver on restarts, quickly pulled away and was never challenged again.

Other than the drama at the end, the race was relatively uneventful. Chase contenders Denny Hamlin and Carl Edwards both had trouble, but there was apparently no contact between drivers on the track all day.

Here are the NASCAR Michigan results from today:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Mark Martin
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Kasey Kahne
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Tony Stewart
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. AJ Allmendinger
  12. David Ragan
  13. Regan Smith
  14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  15. Brian Vickers
  16. Bobby Labonte
  17. Jeff Burton
  18. Martin Truex Jr.
  19. David Reutimann
  20. Greg Biffle
  21. Joey Logano
  22. Kevin Harvick
  23. Jamie McMurray
  24. Trevor Bayne
  25. Juan Pablo Montoya
  26. Paul Menard
  27. Marcos Amborse
  28. Travis Kvapil
  29. Andy Lally
  30. Ken Schrader
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. David Gilliland
  33. Dave Blaney
  34. Kurt Busch
  35. Denny Hamlin
  36. Carl Edwards
  37. Casey Mears
  38. Tony Raines
  39. Todd Bodine
  40. David Stremme
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Mike Skinner
  43. JJ Yeley