clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

New York City Marathon results 2014: Wilson Kipsang beats Lelisa Desisa down the stretch

The men's winner of the 2014 New York City Marathon was Wilson Kipsang.

Alex Goodlett

A new face crossed the finish line first at Central Park Sunday, as Wilson Kipsang of Kenya captured the New York City Marathon with a winning time of 2:10:04, the slowest race since 2003. Kipsang narrowly beat Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia, who briefly passed him in the final mile before Kipsang pulled away to win by four seconds.

Kipsang, who also won the London Marathon in 2014, takes home $100,000 for winning the race in New York, with Desisa winning $60,000 for second and Gebregziabher Gebremariam winning $40,000 for third place. Gebremariam won the NYC Marathon in 2010.

Kipsang also gets $500,000 as the 2013-2014 World Marathon Majors Series champion.

Meb Keflezighi, 39, who won the New York City Marathon in 2009 and won the 2014 Boston Marathon, finished fourth. He was one of three Americans to finish in the top 10.

Geoffrey Mutai, who won the race in 2011 and 2013, finished fifth. He was trying to become the first three-time winner of the event since Alberto Salazar from 1980-82. Bill Rodgers, who won the race four times from 1976-79, is the only other runner to win the New York City Marathon at least three times.