clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Team USA vs. Russia hockey: Slava Voynov basically called Jonathan Quick a cheater

New, comments

A disallowed goal call in the third period swung Saturday's USA vs. Russia game in the Americans' favor, and the Russians really don't seem happy about it.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

SB Nation 2014 Winter Olympic Coverage

The Americans topped Russia in a shootout in their preliminary round matchup at the Winter Olympics on Saturday morning, but the game never would have reached a shootout if Fedor Tyutin's third-period goal wasn't disallowed.

USA goalie Jonathan Quick had kicked the net off its moorings ever so slightly before Tyutin put the puck across the goal line.

839209768_medium

The Russians were pretty salty about it after the game, and defenseman Slava Voynov, who plays with Quick as a member of the NHL's Los Angeles Kings, basically called him a cheater.

Here's Alex Ovechkin on the subject:

According to IIHF rules, if the net comes dislodged at all, the goal doesn't count. So it was the correct call according to the rulebook, even if it does seem like Quick could have done this on purpose -- and therefore, could do it basically all the time.

Nevertheless, Sergei Bobrovsky couldn't stop T.J. Oshie in the shootout, because T.J. Oshie is AMERICA.

Youmad_medium

More on the Winter Olympics:

SB Nation's Winter Olympics medal tracker | Meet Team USA

Team USA beats Russia in shootout | How T.J. Oshie became a hero

Female snowboarder has "good luck mustache" | #Lookit

Remembering the 1980 Miracle on Ice | Longform: Team USA's disaster in 1984

Hockey: Men’s schedule | All 12 men’s rosters | USA roster analysis