clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lady Byng Trophy finalists: Ryan O'Reilly, Patrick Marleau, Martin St. Louis are all gentlemen

The three finalists for the 2014 Lady Byng Trophy were named Tuesday.

Doug Pensinger

Patrick Marleau, Ryan O'Reilly and Martin St. Louis are the finalists for the 2013-14 edition of the Lady Byng Trophy, awarded annually "to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability," according to the NHL.

In other words, it's the "lots of points without taking penalties" award. You can get a pretty good sense of how voters determine their thinking on this award with a simple Hockey Reference search.

Marleau scored 33 goals in 2013-14 for the San Jose Sharks, and played more minutes per night (20:31) than he took in penalties for the entire season (18). Marleau was a finalist for the Lady Byng in 2006, finishing third.

Ryan O'Reilly is the front-runner for the award. He scored 64 points in 2013-14, a career-high, amidst tough two-way minutes. He took just one penalty the entire season. It's his first time as a finalist and he seems a likely winner.

Martin St. Louis won the Lady Byng in 2013 and is a perennial finalist. Many question his candidacy this season after demanding a trade from New York, but his on-ice credentials are all there: 30 goals, 39 assists and just 10 penalty minutes in 18:29 minutes per game during the 2013-14 season.

The Lady Byng was voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, and it will be awarded on June 24 at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.