clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

ACC-Big Ten Challenge Matchups Announced: Duke at Wisconsin Headlines the Schedule

This will be the first ACC-Big Ten Challenge to feature 14 games.


The first 14-team ACC-Big Ten Challenge field was announced on Thursday, and as always, it has some big games. Wisconsin will play host to Duke in a matchup of two likely preseason top five teams. Wisconsin returns an impressive core of Frank Kaminsky, Nigel Hayes, Sam Dekker and Traevon Jackson, while Duke brings in top recruits Jahlil Okafor and Tyus Jones, both from Big Ten country. The last time the two teams played, the Badgers upset the Blue Devils in Madison.

Storylines are abound in the other games, as well. Michigan hosts Syracuse in a rematch of a 2013 Final Four game won by the Wolverines. Illinois and Miami will also meet up in a rematch of a tightly-contested 2013 NCAA Tournament game. Former ACC rivals Maryland and Virginia will square off in College Park, with bad blood lingering between Maryland and its old conference. North Carolina and Iowa have been involved in some big recruiting battles in recent years, with the Hawkeyes grabbing Adam Woodbury and the Tar Heels getting Marcus Paige.

The games will be televised on the ESPN family of networks. Boston College will not participate. A look at the matchups:

Home Away
Wisconsin Duke
Michigan Syracuse
Louisville Ohio State
North Carolina Iowa
Maryland Virginia
Indiana Pittsburgh
Miami Illinois
Northwestern Georgia Tech
Purdue NC State
Florida State Nebraska
Wake Forest Minnesota
Clemson Rutgers
Notre Dame Michigan State
Penn State Virginia Tech