clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA Baseball Tournament 2014: Regional host sites announced

Baton Rouge, Oxford and Corvallis are among the 16 towns that will host the first round of the college baseball tournament.


The 2014 college baseball tournament is beginning to take shape. The NCAA announced the regional host sites on Sunday night, revealing the 16 teams that will hold home field advantage through the first round. Update: Complete NCAA Baseball Tournament bracket announced

There were no surprises, at least within the context of the last couple of days. The fact that LSU will be hosting in Baton Rouge would have been a shocker this time last week, but the Tigers were a lock after blazing through the SEC Tournament to capture the conference championship on Sunday.

Here is the complete list of host teams:

  • Cal Poly (San Luis Obispo, Calif.)
  • Florida (Gainesville, Fla.)
  • Florida State (Tallahassee, Fla.)
  • Indiana (Bloomington, Ind.)
  • Louisiana-Lafayette (Lafayette, La.)
  • Louisville (Louisville, Ky.)
  • LSU (Baton Rouge, La.)
  • Miami (Miami, Fla.)
  • Oklahoma State (Stillwater, Okla.)
  • Ole Miss (Oxford, Miss.)
  • Oregon State (Corvallis, Ore.)
  • Rice (Houston, Tex.)
  • South Carolina (Columbia, S.C.)
  • TCU (Fort Worth, Tex.)
  • Vanderbilt (Nashville, Tenn.)
  • Virginia (Charlottesville, Va.)

The eight national seeds and the remaining field of 64 will be revealed in an hour-long selection show that will air at noon ET Monday on ESPNU.

The regionals are the first round of the three-part, month-long tournament that begins on May 30. The field of 64 is split into 16 regionals, each with a host site. The four teams in each regional play a double-elimination tournament, with one team from each group advancing to the second round.

The second round, or super regionals, pairs off the remaining 16 teams for a best-of-three series. From there, eight teams advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.