clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2015 Winter X Games results: Shaun White's return unsuccessful

Danny Davis won his second consecutive Snowboard Superpipe gold medal.

Cameron Spencer/Getty Images

Shaun White's return to the X Games began on positive note Thursday, when the veteran action sports star posted the top score in the elimination round of the Men's Snowboard Superpipe competition.

It didn't quite end that way.

White, who missed the 2014 Games, finished fourth in the event, which was won for the second consecutive year by Danny Davis. Davis posted a 93.66 in his final run, which was also the last run of the competition, to earn the gold medal. White, on the other hand, stumbled a couple of times on his final run but was still in position for the bronze until Davis' winning performance.

White's disappointing finish represents the first time since 2008 that he has failed to win the gold in a Superpipe event in which he participated.

Taku Hiraoka earned the silver medal and Iouri Podladtchikov settled for the bronze.

Snowboarder X Qualifying

Max Schairer was the top qualifier in the Men's competition, posting a time of 0:49.111. Konstantin Schad is the only one of the 2014 medalists to qualify this time around. He finished third. Last year's winner, Nate Holland, failed to qualify. Joining Schairer and Schad in the next round are Kevin Hill, Stian Sivertzen, Omar Visintin and Pierre Vaultier.

Eva Samkova, the 2014 silver medal winner, posted the best qualifying time on the Women's side. She'll be joined by fellow 2014 medalists Lindsey Jacobellis, who won the gold last year, and Helene Olafsen. Dominique Maltais, Michela Moioli and Belle Brockhoff also advanced.

Top qualifier Mike Shea -- along with Keith Gabel, Carl Murphy, John Leslie, Alex Massie and Benjamin Moore -- advanced in the Adaptive competition.

Men's Ski Slopestyle elimination

Tom Wallisch had the best score of the day, earning an 89.66 in his second run. He'll advance to the next round, along with Joss Christensen, Alex Bellemare, Bobby Brown, Henrik Harlaut, James Woods, Alex Beaulieu-Marchand and Gus Kenworthy. All three 2014 medalists in the event, including defending champion Nick Goepper, failed to advance.

Mono Skier X

Chris Devlin-Young posted the best time in all three rounds of the competition, culminating with a 1:03.246 run in the final to capture the gold ahead of Brandon Adam (silver) and Ravi Drugan (bronze).

Snowmobile Speed & Style

Colten Moore, the winner of the 2014 Snowmobile Freestyle competition at the Winter X Games, earned a gold medal for the second straight year in Aspen. Moore topped Joe Parsons and Cory Davis, the silver and bronze winners, as well as Levi LaVallee, who won three snowmobile events at X Games last year.