clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Dez Bryant made another incredible catch at Lambeau Field that actually didn't count

New, comments

Referees spoil Dez Bryant's best efforts ... again.

Stop us if you've heard this one before: Dez Bryant appeared to make an incredible catch against the Packers at Lambeau Field, but referees overturned it after a challenge.

Here, Bryant makes an incredible effort to bring down over (and through!?) Packers defensive back Damarious Randall, but after the Packers challenged the play referees decided that he didn't maintain control all the way to the ground. Indeed, if you look near the end of the play, Bryant appears to lose control of the ball for a moment before securing it again into his stomach.

Previously, Bryant appeared to make an incredible touchdown grab against the Packers in the divisional round of last season's playoffs, only to have the call overturned. The Cowboys went on to lose, 26-21.

Referees made the right call then, and they appeared to make the right call Sunday ... but maaaan if it doesn't feel like Bryant should get at least one of these calls to go his way one of these days.

A pair of Packers fans helpfully summed up the last 20 minutes of Twitter for you.

* * *

SB Nation presents: The NFL needs to tell us what a catch is