clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Preakness Stakes 2015 results: Full finishing order

New, comments

American Pharoah won the 2015 Preakness Stakes on Saturday, besting the eight-horse field to capture the second leg of the Triple Crown at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore. He won the race by a dominating seven lengths, beating out Tale of Verve and Divining Rod.

With jockey Victor Espinoza at the helm, American Pharoah is trying to become the first horse since Affirmed in 1978 to win the Triple Crown. He is the 14th horse since Affirmed to win the first two legs of the Triple Crown, and third in the last four years.

Dortmund, at 4/1 odds at the Preakness after finishing third at Churchill Downs, finished fourth on Saturday. Firing Line, who finished second at the Kentucky Derby, finished seventh on Saturday.

This is the third time Espinoza has won the first two legs of the Triple Crown; he was also atop War Emblem in 2002 and California Chrome in 2014.

Here is the full finishing order for the 140th running of the Preakness Stakes.

2015 Preakness Stakes full results
Rank Horse Jockey
1 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza
2 Tale of Verve Brian Hernandez, Jr.
Divining Rod Javier Castellano
4 Dortmund Martin Garcia
5 Mr. Z Ramon A. Vazquez
6 Danzig Moon Julien Leparoux
7 Firing Line Gary L. Stevens
8 Bodhisattva Trevor McCarthy

SB Nation presents: Horse racing's Triple Crown lineage