clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Kentucky Derby 2015 results: Full finishing order for Run for the Roses

New, comments

The 2015 Kentucky Derby was won on Saturday by American Pharoah, beating Firing Line by one length and Dortmund by three lenths for the first leg of the Triple Crown.

American Pharoah had 3-1 odds to win the race, and won Saturday with a great stretch run. American Pharoah remains undefeated in five career races, including a 4-0 record in 2015.

Dortmund, at 4-1 odds, suffered its first loss in seven career races. Firing Line, at 9-1 odds to win, finished second.

It was the fourth Kentucky Derby win for trainer Bob Baffert, and his first since 2002. Jockey Victor Espinoza wins the Kentucky Derby for the second consecutive year and third time in his career, also atop War Emblem in 2002 and California Chrome in 2014.

Here is the full finishing order of the 2015 Kentucky Derby, not including International Star and El Kabier, the two horses scratched before the race:

2015 Kentucky Derby results
Finish Horse Lengths behind
1 American Pharoah ---
2 Firing Line 1
3 Dortmund 3
4 Frosted
5 Danzig Moon
6 Materiality
7 Keen Ice
8 Mubtaahij 9 ¼
9 Itsaknockout 10½
10 Carpe Diem 11
11 Frammento 12
12 Bolo 12¾
13 Mr. Z 15½
14 Ocho Ocho Ocho 15½
15 Far Right 15¾
16 War Story 19¼
17 Tencendur 35
18 Upstart 60½