clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB All-Star Game 2016 rosters: Cubs, Red Sox dominate voting results

Mike Trout makes his fourth appearance, while Miguel Cabrera is left off the starting roster.

Seattle Mariners v Boston Red Sox Photo by Rich Gagnon/Getty Images

The Chicago Cubs and Boston Red Sox headline the American and National League starting rosters for the 2016 MLB All-Star Game. The top vote-getters were announced on Tuesday night, with the Cubs sending an MLB-high five starting players (seven total) to the Midsummer Classic at San Diego on July 12. Eleven of the starters selected by fans are first-year selections, the most since 2005.

Salvador Perez and Anthony Rizzo earned the highest votes for the AL and NL rosters, respectively. As to the starting selections in the AL, this will be the first All-Star Game that all their infielders and catcher are aged 26 or younger, according to Elias Sports Bureau. The Cubs join the 1963 Cardinals as the only teams in MLB history to start all their infielders at the Midsummer Classic.

This will be Mike Trout's fourth All-Star Game, becoming just the sixth player to do so before his 25th birthday. The others were Ken Griffey Jr., Joe DiMaggio, Mickey Mantle, Al Kaline and Ivan "Pudge" Rodriguez. David Ortiz will make his 10th All-Star Game appearance and is retiring after this season.

Most of the races on the AL side weren't close decisions. Five of the nine positions had been all but decided in the last update on June 27, but the NL was a much closer race, with no clear leader in all but one position leading up to the announcement. Salvador Perez and David Ortiz obtained a comfortable lead for the vast majority of the voting process -- Perez being the overall leader, with Ortiz not far behind vote-wise in his last year playing baseball.

Pitchers and reserve players were chosen based on a dual-system of player ballots and manager choices. Royals manager Ned Yost will manage the AL team, with Mets’ Terry Collins calling the shots for the NL dugout. The starting pitchers will be named at a later date. Fans can immediately begin voting for their league’s respective final player. They have until July 8 at 4 p.m. ET to vote, and will have five players to choose from.

For the AL, those players are Ian Kinsler (Tigers), Evan Longoria (Rays), Dustin Pedroia (Red Sox), Michael Saunders (Blue Jays), and George Springer (Astros). For the NL, fans can choose from Brandon Belt (Giants), Ryan Braun (Brewers), Jake Lamb (Diamondbacks), Starling Marte (Pirates), and Trevor Story (Rockies).

American League roster:

C: Salvador Perez, Royals
1B: Eric Hosmer, Royals
2B: Jose Altuve, Astros
3B: Manny Machado, Orioles
SS: Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox
OF: Mike Trout, Angels
OF: Jackie Bradley Jr., Red Sox
OF: Mookie Betts, Red Sox
DH: David Ortiz, Red Sox

AL pitchers:

RHP: Dellin Betances, Yankees
RHP: Brad Brach, Orioles
LHP: Zach Britton, Orioles
RHP: Alex Colome, Rays
RHP: Wade Davis (on DL), Royals
RHP: Marco Estrada, Blue Jays
LHP: Cole Hamels, Rangers
RHP: Will Harris, Astros
RHP: Kelvin Herrera, Royals
RHP: Craig Kimbrel, Red Sox
LHP: Andrew Miller, Yankees
RHP: Danny Salazar, Indians
LHP: Chris Sale, White Sox
RHP: Steven Wright, Red Sox

AL reserves:

C: Stephen Vogt, Athletics
C: Matt Wieters, Orioles
1B: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
2B: Robinson Cano, Mariners
3B: Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays
SS: Francisco Lindor, Indians
SS: Eduardo Nunez, Twins
OF: Carlos Beltran, Yankees
OF: Ian Desmond, Rangers
OF: Mark Trumbo, Orioles
DH: Edwin Encarnacion, Blue Jays

National League roster:

C: Buster Posey, Giants
1B: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
2B: Ben Zobrist, Cubs
3B: Kris Bryant, Cubs
SS: Addison Russell, Cubs
OF: Bryce Harper, Nationals
OF: Yoenis Cespedes, Mets
OF: Dexter Fowler, Cubs

NL pitchers:

RHP: Jake Arrieta, Cubs
LHP: Madison Bumgarner, Giants
RHP: Johnny Cueto, Giants
RHP: Jeurys Familia, Mets
RHP: Jose Fernandez, Marlins
RHP: Kenley Jansen, Dodgers
LHP: Clayton Kershaw (on DL), Dodgers
LHP: Jon Lester, Cubs
RHP: Mark Melancon, Pirates
RHP: A.J. Ramos, Marlins
RHP: Fernando Rodney, Marlins
RHP: Stephen Strasburg, Nationals
RHP: Noah Syndergaard, Mets
RHP: Julio Teheran, Braves

NL reserves:

C: Jonathan Lucroy, Brewers
C: Wilson Ramos, Nationals
1B: Paul Goldschmidt, D-backs
1B: Wil Myers, Padres
2B: Daniel Murphy, Nationals
3B: Nolan Arenado, Rockies
3B: Matt Carpenter, Cardinals
SS: Corey Seager, Dodgers
OF: Adam Duvall, Reds
OF: Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies
OF: Odubel Herrera, Phillies
OF: Marcell Ozuna, Marlins