clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Little League World Series 2016: New York wins first championship since 1964

Endwell, NY earned a 2-1 win over international champ South Korea on Sunday

Evan Habeeb-USA TODAY Sports

The 2016 Little League World Series championship game was everything fans have come to expect from the annual title tilt as the team from Endwell, New York beat Seoul, South Korea 2-1 to win it all at Lamade Stadium in Williamsport, Penn.

This is the first Little League World Series championship for New York since Staten Island won it all in 1964.

It was in the bottom of the fourth that the scoreless tie was finally broken. New York got on the board on a single by Jude Abbadessa, who advanced to second and then third on a single to center field by Ryan Harlost. Abbadessa scored on the swing of Conner Rush's bat, which also advanced Harlost to third base, from where he stole home on the following play to make it a 2-0 game at the end of the inning.

In the fifth inning, the Asia-Pacific squad cut their foe's lead in half with a homer by Yoomin Lee, but it was the only scoring they would manage with two quick outs following the impressive batting display.