clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

SEC refs gave Ole Miss a touchdown, and then gave Bama one, too

New, comments

Refs WYD?

So, this was pretty bad.

This is targeting. You can debate the merits of intent ad nauseam, but check the letter of the law.

No player shall target and make forcible contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet. This foul requires that there be at least one indicator of targeting (See Note 1 below). When in question, it is a foul.

So not only is this a foul because the crown initiated contact (and in my opinion, definitely) but also because there’s a pretty sizable gray area I guess you could argue, the referees should err on the side of calling the penalty. That would have ended the play obviously, and the Rebels’ TD would have been taken off the board.

That stinks for the Tide, but it’s ok, because there was an unnecessary roughness call on the same play that would have brought the TD back no problem.

LOLNOPE. The officials caught this one, yet somehow ruled that it happened after the runner crossed into the end zone. That’s not the case, but it’s fine. CBS’s Gary Danielson was furious about both calls, circling this one to show how far the ball still was from the end zone at that point.

Ole Miss at that point was up 24-3.

But in the interest of fairness, the referees decided minutes later that the Tide deserved a makeup call, so they ruled this hands to the face on Ole Miss during a Bama punt return touchdown to make it 24-17? We’re not really sure why, but that’s our best guess.

You can see here that Danielson was confused by this call as well, attempting to circle the alleged violation:

Everything is fine in Oxford.